One Heirloom Project: Updates From My Garden

My garden is happy.  It’s enjoying the new layers of mulch, a few new perennials, and containers of herbs and annuals. The hummingbird is enjoying her feeder and her hanging geranium basket. My son is enjoying the succulent garden–well, he’s enjoying the pea gravel really. The dogs love the cool, wet grass in the morning. My tiny goldfish seem to be enjoying the patio pond. And the birds are definitely enjoying their feeders!

As for me, I’m enjoying the veggie beds. I think I planted at least one of everything from GHE’s garden enter: cauliflower, broccoli, onions, eggplant, herbs, peppers hot and sweet, asparagus, rhubarb, tomatoes, pumpkins, squash, celery, fennel. There’s more, but that’s all I can remember!

Most of all, I’m enjoying watching my Arkansas Travelers take off. They are by far the biggest tomato plants I have growing. My routine so far has been to keep the beds mulched with grass clippings and to try to water every other night. The draught means I’ve turned the hose on way more than I’d like to. But it also means that I appreciate my 3 rain barrels more than ever!

Below are a few pictures of the beauties. You’ll notice I did some companion planting with basil. Please feel free to share pictures of your garden and One Heirloom tomatoes. And tell us your tips for keeping your plants happy during this heat wave!

   

Leave a Reply

