One Heirloom Project Check-In

So folks, how’s it going? This is the first of many check-ins throughout the season. We want to hear how your gardens are going. What have you started? What’s in the ground? What do you have left to do?

My garden has gotten off to a slow start, thanks to my toddler and the opening of the garden center. Nevertheless, I brought home some plants last week that have made their way into the ground. My annuals are in my containers in front. The rest of the front is a native garden, so it’s basically maintenance-free!

In back, I have about 1/3 of my veggie garden planted. So far I’ve put in: brussels sprouts, broccoli, onions, basil, eggplant, summer squash, jalapenos, habaneros, poblanos, Roma tomatoes, and Arkansas Traveler tomatoes.

Thanks to the mild winter I had several herbs come back: oregano (of course), parsley, and sage! I’ll try to get a picture of my Arkansas Traveler up here soon. In the meantime, tell me…how are your maters faring? And the rest of your garden?

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Casey said,

    Planted two Arkansas Traveler plants on Saturday — they’re getting lots of sunshine and I’ve been watering the soil once a day. It’s my maiden voyage for tomato growing, so I hope that’s the right method.

    I’d love to hear some tips from more seasoned growers!

  2. 2

    ghexperts said,

    You’ll do great, Casey! Your picture looks like you’re off to a good start: http://oakpark.patch.com/articles/how-does-your-garden-grow-25bc6221#comment_3392387

  3. 3

    ghexperts said,

    And here is another picture from Theresa in Forest Park: https://twitter.com/#!/tbbrowning/status/203627103713902592/photo/1 Looks fabulous!

  4. 4

    Kimberly said,

    I’ve got my Arkansas Traveler planted in my large container right next to the lettuce. They are about the same height. Can’t wait to get some flowers on it and see those ‘maters growing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

