Girl Scouts Visit GHE

A few days ago, 23 wonderful Girl Scouts from St. Edmund’s visited GHE. The came on March 8, International Women’s Day. We started the session by talking about why it’s great to be a woman. That was an easy one! They were a very engaged group who asked wonderful questions and were a joy to be with.

Since they’ve been working on a composting badge, my worm bin was familiar to them. After one brave volunteer offered to smell the worm castings (“It smells like dirt!”), we had 22 more volunteers after that.

We planted lettuce seeds in BioPots and topped them off with some worm castings. Since it was a warm, sunny day, we did it outside in our garden center. We also talked about non-toxic fertilizers, cleaners and paints. We spent a good 20 minutes talking about making informed decisions. We compared the ingredients and warning labels on conventional cleaners versus our line of products. One girl even told us about greenwashing! (Which is not green cleaning; it’s the deceptive use of green PR or marketing). Oh, what I’d do to be able to engage most adults like this!

My favorite question of the day was the first question of the day. “Where’s Oscar?!” Many of the girls had been in the group that I read The Lorax to, and they remembered my peanut. See ladies, that’s why it’s great to be a woman! I get to raise my baby and my business. And the greatest thing I heard was at the end of the day, “When I grow up, I want to own a business like this one!”

There’s no doubt in my mind that one day, those ladies will be mentoring the next generation of Girl Scouts about their businesses. Thank you, Girl Scouts, for giving me a wonderful reason to celebrate International Women’s Day.

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

