On Being a HAW Mom

Right now, I’m cramming to get as much work done as possible before the boss wakes up. I’m paying bills, waiting on customers, and trying to keep things moving forward. Meanwhile, the boss is snuggly tucked into his pack-n-play napping in our storage room.

When he wakes up he’ll be hungry. I’ll have to drop what I’m doing, feed him and change him. From there on he may want to play, rock in his swing or practice rolling over. Sometimes, he insists on being carried in his sling so I never get to put him down.

In between playing, changing, feeding and carrying, I try to run my business. My boss’ name is Oscar and he’s my 5 month-old son. You’ve heard of WAHMs (work at home moms) and SAHMs (stay at home moms). Well, I bring my home to work with me everyday. And like the moms who fit the other two categories, I’m always distracted and I’m always exhausted!

I’m very grateful to be able to bring Oscar to work with my every day. It’s a blessing for me to be able to do the two things I love the most at the same time–run my business and be with my kid. Then again, this blessing is exhausting. On any given day, you’ll find me taking orders over the phone while nursing Oscar, changing diapers while receiving deliveries, and rocking a sleeping baby while reviewing installation directions with a contractor.

Fortunately, I have a lot of help. My mom comes to the shop a couple times a week to relieve me. Taylor, my right-hand-man, is always willing to jump in and help. Any customer who offers to hold Oscar gets their wish granted. I’m using the whole darn village to raise this child.

So we’ll see how this experiment goes. I’m wondering how long I can keep him here until Oscar needs more than a distracted mommy to fill his days. Maybe we’ll need to make different plans when he starts walking. Maybe this can last until preschool. Maybe one day I’ll realize I just can’t do both anymore.

For now, I try to laugh at the times I feel like Lucy without her Ethel, shrug off the aggravation of never feeling like my work is done, and cherish the–oops, gotta go. The boss is yelling for me from his office.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rachel Benoit said,

    I love that you are doing Home At Work! Maybe next time I am in the boss will be awake and I can meet him. 🙂

    By the way, do you have lunch mats there? The reusable mat you can fold around a sandwich to pack it, and then it becomes a placemat at meal time? I’d like to get a couple of these to send back and forth to day care rather than baggies or bulky containers.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

